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Code ldentification

P.C. = Penal Code Business & Prof.
H & N = Harbors & Nav. Fish & Game
V.C. = Vehicle Code Health & Safety
T13 = Title 13, CA Regs. Govt. Code
e ©gs . Public Resource Code
T14 = Title 14, CA Regs. W.C. = Water Code

NOTE: Violations listed are misdemeanors L.lnless otherwise noted as
infraction (l), felony (F), OR misdemeanor/felony (M/F).
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Phone Numbers/ Websites

Boating & Waterways Accident Reporting ........ccovcveveneneenne (916) 764-5473

Boating & Waterways Enforcement Training ..........ccccceeueeeee. (916) 327-1835
Boating & Waterways Toll Free ..o (888) 326-2822
California Boater Card Toll Free.......cocvuivnecnecneisinceennenns (844) 421-8333
California Boater Card website ...........cccccenvevrvnrnees californiaboatercard.com
DMV Registration ChECK .........occreerereenmeererrneesessenesesssesesnnees (916) 657-7827
DOJ Automated Boat SYStem .............ccccoevevveeemeeeevvoiesse oo (916) 227-3686
Maritime Coordination Center Marine Events ...........ccc.c....... (562) 283-7951
National Boating Education Information ...........c.cccocevveineenne. (800) 336-2628
National Response Center (NRC) .......ccccocemevrevrnerreerenneeenenes (800) 424-8802
NOAA Vessel Documentation Web Address ...........ccco... st.nmfs.noaa.gov

USCG 11" District Contact ........ (510) 437-5364
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Authority

DESCRIPTION SECTION CODE
General Authority
Stop and board VESSEIS.........ccovueveiiiiieeiiie e 663 H&N
Refusal to sign promise to appear...............c.......... 853.7 P.C.
Failure t0 @ppear ........ccceeeueee e 665 H&N
500 yd. boundary of jurisdiction P.C.
California/Arizona/Colorado River Compact ................ 853.2 P.C.
California/Nevada Compact ..........cccoeeevieiiieeiiniieens 853.3 P.C.
Coastal boundary 170 G.C.
Inspect vessel HIN .........cccoooeeiiiiiiieeceeee e 9845 V.C.
Seize vessel with altered or removed HIN ................. 9872.1 V.C.
Seize article with altered or removed
serial NUMDEr ..o 537 e P.C.
Abandoned vessel over 30 days .........cccceeeierieinieennn. 522 H&N
Vessel removal and storage (private prop.) ................ 524 H&N
Vessel removal and storage (circumstances) ............ 523(a) H&N
- Obstruct traffic or a hazard.........cccovcveeneecenee .. 523(a)(1)
- Reported stolen or embezzled 523(a)(2)
- Operator injured..........ccoocovveeene 523(a)(3)
- Operator physical arrest........... ... 523(a)@4)
- Danger to Nav / Public safety......c.ccocenneninineens 523(a)(5)
- Vessel pose threat to wetlands, levies, water........ 523(a)(6)
- Expired registration 1 year / evid. comm. of crime  523(a)(7)
Vessel Inspection /Termination Authority
(Unsafe Conditions)..........coeiveiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeen 6550.5(d) T14
- Insufficient PFD’s - Insufficient fire extinguishers
- No lights at night - Fuel leakage
- Accumulation of fuel in bilges - Unserviceable ventilation
- Improper backfire flame control - Overloaded
- Unseaworthy condition
Vessel Inspection/Termination Authority
(Unseaworthy Conditions)..........ccocverererinienicicieneeene 6550.5(e) T14
- Unsuitable, Unsafe, Risk to life, limb & property
- Environmental Hazard
- Hull or deck in disrepair, delaminating, decomposing
- Taking on water
- Not water tight, may sink or capsize from water intrusion
Vessel inspection /dreissenid mussels.............c........... 2301 F&G
MSD InSpection ...........ccoecveriiinecnneene ... 782(c) H&N
Public Safety Vessel blue light display 652.5 H&N
6591 T14
6600.1 T14
Alcohol or Drugs. .......c.cccomeerereenencneeeeseeneseseenens 655.1 H&N
- Request blood alcohol/drugs chemical test wee(b)
- Test option blood/breath............cccccveiiiiiieiiiine. (c)(1)
- Request blood or urine test if suspicion of
- drug inflUENCE .....cceeiiiiiie s (e)
- Unconscious person - may be subjected
- to chemical test ..........ccoeiviiiiiice (h)
- Gather evidence..........cccoeviieiciinicnne (m)
- Urine option if blood/breath unavailable (n)
- Non-recreational vessel operator - .01% or
- more BAC - peace officer order out of
- service for 24 hours ..........cccocvvevneiineneseeeeeene 655.05 H&N

(continued on reverse - 2B)
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Authority, continued

2B

DESCRIPTION SECTION CODE
Vessel Accident - arrest without warrant a

person suspected of operating under the

influence of alcoholand/ordrugs............c......... 663.1 H&N
Search Warrant Blood Evidence Authority 1524 et. al. P.C.
Penalties
GeNEral.....ccceiiiiicee e 668 H&N
Court authority to require boating safety course.. 668.1 H&N
Op. License (for-hire op.). ....cccooeericieiiiceiiieenns 761 H&N
Charter Boat Safety.........ccooeeeviiiiiiiie 774.3 H&N
Marine Sanitation............cccooiiiii 780 H&N
Registration (vesSels). .........cccveveeeieeiiiieeeeecie. 9875 V.C.



General Law

DESCRIPTION SECTION CODE
Deface, destroy, HIN number........................... 9872 V.C.
Possession of vessel with removed or

altered HIN ... 9872.1 V.C.
Possession of article with removed or

altered serial number ... 537 e P.C.
Grand theft (value exceeding $950) (F)...........c....... 487 P.C.
Petty theft ... 488 P.C.
False vessel theft report (1)........ccceeeieiiiiiinnnn. 10552 V.C.
Receiving stolen property (M/F) .........ccccviieene 496 d P.C.
JOY FdiNG (VESSEI) ..vvveeiiiiiiiiiee e 499 b P.C.
Vessel lien, obtain possession by fraud.............. 505.5 H&N
Water Pollution ............coceeeiiiiiieeeeeec e 5650 F&G
Grease waste haulers, water pollution (M)......... 374.5 P.C.
lllegal deposit of refuse - into waters or

within 150" of high water mark....................... 5652 F&G
Littering - Pollution.............occooiiiiiiie 374.7 P.C.
Discharge of oil into water...........ccccccccoevvvneen. 133 H&N
Hazardous substance or sewage discharge,

notice to authorities (M)..........cccceeveienieeennnee. 13271 W.C.
Disconnect MSD to discharge sewage into

Waters. .. ..o 780(a) H&N
MSD not properly secured (I) ......ccvvveeeeinnnnnnnnn. 780(b) H&N
MSD Inspection Authority ..........cccceveeeeeiiinneennn. 782(c) H&N
Marine toilet - designed for no discharge .......... 117505 H&S
Marine toilet - no discharge.............ccccceeevveeeenn. 117515 H&S
Obstructing navigable water...............ccccccoen. 131 H&N
Abandoning vessel prohibited (I)............cc........ 525(a) H&N
Marine debris / vessel ........ccccceeeeiiiiieieeeienee. 551(a)(1) H&N
Vessel under 10 tons, willfully damaging............ 300 H&N
Vessel over 10 tons, willfully damaging............. 301 H&N
Vessel over 10 tons, sink or set adrift (F).......... 302 H&N
Wood piles and rafts, willfully damaging (M)..... 303 H&N
Damage or sink vessel by person in

ComMMANA (F)..evveiiieiieeicecee e 304 H&N
Damage or sink vessel by person not

incommand (F)......ccoooiiiiiiie e 305 H&N
Maliciously throw any object at a vessel.............. 654.5 H&N
Throw or project hard substance at (coml.)

vessel carrying passengers or freight (M/F).... 219.2 P.C.

(continued on reverse - 3B)

GENERAL LAW 3A



General Law, continued

3B

DESCRIPTION SECTION CODE
Mooring / destroying state buoy and marker. I/M. 307(a) H&N
Mooring / destroying federal buoy or beacon....... 308 H&N
Unlawful posting of waters (I)........ccccoccveeicnennnnn. 659 H&N
Unlawful placement of waterway markers (1)....... 7003 T14
Vessels exercise precautionin vicinity of
diversflag (). ...ooveeeeeeee e 7008(c) T14

Improperdiversflagdisplay (1)......cc.ccoceeviineiieenn. 7008(d) T14
lllegal display of distress signal............cccccoeveene 6692.1 T14
Failuretoterminate operation per

8ection6550.5T14......cociiiiiiiiie e 652(d) H&N
Failure to yield to enforcement vessel (blue light) 652.5(d) H &N
Failure t0 stop.....ccvvveeeiiiiiiie e 663.6 H&N
Resist or interfere with a peace officer................ 148 P.C.
Disorderly conduct / Public intoxication .............. 647(f) P.C.
Public nuisance..........cccoeoiiiiiici 370 P.C.
Gross vehicular manslaughter - vessels (F)........ 191.5(b) P.C.
Manslaughter (F)........cccoooiiiiiiiiiie e 192 P.C.
Manslaughter - vessel operation (M/F)................ 192.5 PC.
Minor in possession of alcohol..............c.ccc.c....... 25662 B&P
Possession of alcohol, Lower American River (1).25608.5 B &P
Possession of alcohol, Truckee River (I)............ 25608.10 B&P
Possession of alcohol, Sacramento (I)................. 25608.12 B &P
Possession of fishing license...........ccccoceiieeen. 700 T14
Unlicensed yacht broker or salesman ............... 708(a) H&N
For-Hire vessel operator license (M)................... 761 H&N
Violate conditions of for-hire license.................... 7504(a) T14
Coastal - Charter boat license, fewer than 7
passengers exXempt .........cccceeveuiiiriiee e 773.3 H&N
Submerged archaeological sites, removal,

destruction, damage (M) ........cccceviiiiieeniienns 6314 P.R.C.
Defraud marina Services ..........ccccceevveverneennnne 537 P.C.
Trailered vessel carrying passengers (1) ............ 21712 V.C.

*seepage 6B



Operation

DESCRIPTION SECTION

CODE

Operation in accordance with pilot rules
and rules of theroad...........ccoooiiiiinii. 6600.1*
Prescribed sound signals shall be given ............ 6600.1*
Maintain proper [0okout...............cccceveeveerinnnen.. 6600.1*
Safe speed ... 6600.1*
California Boater Cards (cite) (I)............... 678.11(a)
«January 1, 2018 — Persons < 20 years of age
eJanuary 1, 2019 — Persons < 25 years of age
«January 1, 2020 — Persons < 35 years of age
eJanuary 1, 2021 — Persons < 40 years of age
eJanuary 1, 2022 — Persons < 45 years of age
eJanuary 1, 2023 — Persons < 50 years of age
«January 1, 2024 — Persons < 60 years of age
eJanuary 1, 2025 — All persons

A person who is a resident of another state or
country who is operating a vessel and meets either

Temporarily in this state not to exceed 60 days,

and meets the applicable requirements, if any of

his or her state of residency.................ocoevviiann. (A)
Temporarily in this state not to exceed 90 days,

and meets the applicable requirements, if any

of his or her country of residency......................... (B)
A person operating a vessel while under the

direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or

older who is in possession of his or her vessel

operator card issued pursuant to subdivision (b)

above or is not required to carry an operator card...(2)
A person in an organized regatta, vessel race, or

WaLErSKi FACE. ... v i 3)
A person operating a rental vessel........................... (4)
A person who is in possession of a current

commercial fishing license................ccoeviiii. (5)
A person who is in possession of a valid USCG

marine operator license, for the waters upon which

the licensee is operating, or, a person who is in

possession of a valid certificate issued pursuant

to the International Convention on Standards of

Training, Certification, and Watchkeeping for

Seafarers, 1978, as amended...................cccoeene. (6)
A person who has successfully completed a POST

approved boating course...............ooiiiiiiiiiieans (7)

(continued on page 4B)
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US Mandatory Education Requirements

AL: All powerboat operators, 12+ years old

AR: Born on or after 1/1/86, 10+hp, PWC must be 16+ years old
CA: All powerboat operators, phased in by age beginning 2018
CO: 14 or 15 years old

CT: All powerboat operators, sailboat 19.5"+

DE: Born on or after 1/1/78

FL: Born on or after 1/1/88

GA: All powerboat operators born on or after 1/1/98

HI: All powerboat operators, >10hp

ID: PWC rentals only

IL: Born on or after 1/1/98, >10hp

IN: Only need if no IN driver’s license, 15+ years old

IA: 12 to 17 years old, >10hp

KS: All powerboats & sailboats, 12 to 20 years old

KY: 12 to 17 years old, >10hp

LA: Born on or after 1/1/84

ME: PWC operators 16 and 17 years old

MD: Born on or after 7/1/72

MA: Powerboat operators 12 to 15, PWC 16-17 years old
MI: Born on or after 7/1/96

MN: 12 to 17 years old, >25hp

MS: Born on or after 6/30/80

MO: Born on or after 1/1/84

MT: 13 or 14 years old, >10hp

NE: Born after 12/31/85

NV: Born on or after 1/1/83, >15hp

NH: All powerboat operators 16 years or older, >25hp

NJ: All powerboat operators

NM: Born on or after 1/1/89

NY: Powerboat operators born on or after 5/1/96, PWC: 14+
NC: Born on or after 1/1/88, 10+hp

ND: 12 to 15 years old, Motorboat/PWC, =10hp

OH: Born on or after 1/1/82, >10hp

OK: 12 to 15 years old, Motorboat/PWC, =10hp, sailboat 16"+
OR: All powerboat operators 16+ years old, >10hp

PA: Born on or after 1/1/82, Powerboat >25hp, PWC any hp
RI: All powerboat operators born on or after 1/1/86, >10hp
SC: <16 years old, Motorboat/PWC, =15hp

TN: Born after 1/1/89

TX: Born on or after 9/1/93

UT: 12 to 17 years old, PWC only

VT: Born after 1/1/74

VA: All powerboat operators 10+hp, PWC operators 14+
WA: All powerboat operators born after 1/1/55, 15+hp

WV: All powerboat operators born on or after 12/31/86

WI: All powerboat operators born on or after 1/1/89

States with no requirements: AK, AZ, SD, WY



Operation, continued

DESCRIPTION SECTION CODE
California Boater Cards (continued) ............. 678.11(a) H&N
A violation of this article is an infraction............ 678.15 (a)
Motorboat operator age limit (I) ..........ccccenneeeen. 658.5 H&N
Permitting under 16 to operate vessel............. 658.5(d) H&N
Vessel stop by order of peace officer ................ 663.6 H&N
Reckless and Negligent Operation.............. 655 H&N
¢ Acts endangering life, limb or property (I/M)......(a)
* Under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs........ (b)
* Under the influence -.08% or more BAC.......... (c)
* Non-recreational vessel operator - .04%
Ormore BAC .......cooviiiiiiiiiiec e (d)
* While addicted to use of any drug................... (e)
* Under the influence - causing bodily injury (M/F)(f)
» USCG undertheinfluence observation............ (9)
Under 21 years of age - .01% or more BAC () ... 655.6 H&N
Non-recreational vessel operator - .01% or
more BAC - shall not operate for 24 hours ...... 655.05 H&N
Personal Watercraft Operation (I)...........cccccevneeen. 655.7 H&N
(A) Lanyard-type engine cutoff switch
improperly attached
(B) Altered self-circling device
(C) llegal wake jumping 100ft, vessel spraying, acts
endangering life, limb, or property
(D) llegal night-time operation
Possession of alcohol, Lower American River () 25608.5 B &P
Possession of alcohol, Truckee River (1).......... 250608.10B & P
Possession of alcohol, Sacramento (l)............ 250608.12B & P
* see page 6B
OPERATIONS, CONTINUED 4C



Operation, continued

4D

DESCRIPTION SECTION CODE
Negligent Operation, Prima Facie Evidence... 6697 T14
* Ride on bow, gunwale or transom.(l)................ (a)
» Pass towline over other vessel or skier............ (b)
* Navigate between a towing vessel and tow..... (c)
Speed in Restricted Area. ..........ccocevniieeriineenns 655.2a) H&N
* Within 100 feet of bather (I)..........cccccoeveerneen. (1)
* Within 200 feet of (I):...cveieeiiiiiice, (2)

(A) Beach frequented by bathers (1)

(B) Swimming float, diving platform or lifeline (1)

(C) Way or landing float with boats tied up or

in use by passengers (l)
*Cite 655.2(a)
Towing SKI€rs. .....ccccverreeriererressssneeessssssnneeessennes 658 H&N
e 12-year-old observer (1)......ccccocerviiirinnciinnnn. (a)
* Night skiing - sunset to sunrise (I).................... (b)
* Vessel towing skier causes collision ............... (d)
» Skier endangering life, limb or property .......... (e)
Skiflag - required display (I).......ccceeevveeeiieeeniennns 658.7 H&N
Ski flag - vessels exercise precaution (l)............. 7009(c) T14
Ski flag - improper display (1)........ccoocveriieierieenn. 009(d) T14
Diving Operations
Vessels shall display proper signals................... 6600.1* T14
Vessel Accidents
Duty of owner or operator to report to the State.. 656(d) H&N
Operator shall stop at scene...........ccccceveviiinenn. 6502 T14
656.1 H&N

Render assistance to injured person (M/F) ........ 656.2 H&N
Report death or disappearance to law

enforcement agency (M/F).......cccoovvevnecnnnnn. 656.3 H&N
Arrest without warrant - influence of

alcohol or drugs ......ccveeeeiieeicieeeee e 663.1 H&N
Peace officerduty toreport..........cccceecvieiiiiiennnn. 656 (d) H&N

6503 T14

Carbon Monoxide Exposure..........cccccervreinnnees 681 H&N
e Teaksurfing (1) ....cvveeeeeeiiieieee e (a)

* Occupying swim platform area (1) .................... (b)



Numbers and Display

DESCRIPTION SECTION CODE
Not currently numbered / registered (l)................ 9850 V.C.
No Certificate of Number aboard () ...........c.......... 9853.2 V.C.
Lease or rental agreement (I)...........cccooeeeninnn. 9853.3 V.C
to be carried (also livery vessel 190.20 T13)
Display or misuse of registration, Quagga, or
Mussel Sticker/Tabs in fresh water (I)................. 190.01 T13
Spark-ignition marine engines, compliance with
emissions standards (I)........ccccooeevvvieeeeninnnen. 9853.8 V.C.
Notify DMV if vessel dismantled, destroyed
or abandoned (15 days) (I).....cccceveeeiiiiineeennns 9864 V.C.
Notify DMV of address change (15 days) (I).......... 9865 V.C.
Notify DMV of ownership change (10 days) (1) ...... 9855 V.C.
HIN requirements (marked on hull) (I)..........ccceernie 9871 V.C.
Defacing / destroying HIN...........cocoeiieiiiciiiennn. 9872 V.C.
Possession of vessel with altered or
removed HIN ... 9872.1 V.C.
Authority toinspect HIN.............occovienieiiiiie 9845 V.C.
Dealer/manufacturer numbers permanently
attached or misused (I) .......ccoeveeeeeiiiiiiiiencns 190.08(c) T13
HIN not Displayed/Permanently Affixed (I)........ 190.15 T13
Proper Display of Numbers Required (I)......... 9853.2 V.C.
Out of State Registration over 120 days (1) 9854 V.C.
e Vessel number display 3 in
block contrasting (I).............cc.oooviiiinnnn. 190.00(a) T13
e Manufacturer/dealer numbers
temporarily but firmly attached ................... (b)
e CF numbers obscured by bow flare ............... (c)
¢ No other numbers/letters/devices to
interfere with CF display..........c.cccoovvnennnen. (d)
Display of other number on bow (1) .........c........... 9866 V.C.
Correction Authority V.C. Only CVC40610VC V.C.
NUMBERING & CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER CODES 5A



5B

Certificate of Number Code Sheet

USE

V1 - Pleasure
V2 - Livery
V3 - Dealer

V4 - Manufacturer

V5 - Commercial

V6 - Fee exempt (youth group)

V7 - Fee exempt (state, city, county & federal)

TYPE FUEL HULL MATERIAL
C - Cruiser G - Gas W - Wood

R - Runabout D - Diesel A - Aluminum
S - Sailboat X - Other S - Steel

H - Houseboat U - If not shown P - Plastic

B - Barge C - Concrete
O - Rowboat M - Metal

K - Kayak & Canoe X - Other

A - Amphibious

M - Multi-hull

X - Other

CF NUMBER ASSIGNMENT PROPULSION

DA - DB, etc. - Boat Dealers | - Inboard

LA - LB, etc. - Livery Boats (public) O - Outboard

LC - Livery Boats (exempt) N -Inboard / Outboard
MA, MB, etc. - Boat Manufacturers S - Sail

MZ - Special Use J - Jet

XC - Fee Exempt (city, county) ~ H - Hand Propelled
XF - Fee Exempt (federal) A -Sail and Auxiliary
XS - Fee Exempt (state) X - Other

YB - Fee Exempt (youth groups)

Meters to Feet

Equipment "Classes"

7 meters =
12 meters =
20 meters =
50 meters =
75 meters =

22 ft.11in.

39ft. 4in.

65 ft. 7in.
163 ft. 8in.
230 ft.

Less than 16 feet
16 feet thru 25 feet
26 feet thru 39 feet
40 feet and over



Equipment

DESCRIPTION SECTION CODE
Required equipment (general authority) (I)...........cveeuve.. 652(c) H&N
Backfire Flame Control
None or iMmproper (1).......coeoeereereeie e 6574 T14
Fire Extinguisher
No extinguisher aboard (I)..........cccooeeiiviviiiiciiecs 6573 T14
Not accessible/serviceable (1).........ccccccevveiiiiiiiiennnn. 6569 T14
Non-approved type (I).......ccccoveeieeieeiieeie e 6572 T14
Lights
None, improper, or notusing (Rule 20).................. 6600.1* T14
Blinding lights (I) (also 6600.1* T14)........cccceevennene. 6695 T14
lllegaldisplay of blue lights—vessels (I)................ 652.5(c) H&N
Livery Boat Requirements
Burden on owner, agent oremployee to
provide required equipment (1) ........c.ccecerenene 674 H&N
Mufflers
EXCesSive NOISE (1) .veviveeiiiiieeee e 654 H&N
Motorboatnoise/levels(l)............coooeiiinn. 654.05 H&N
Sale of engine (exceeds noise limits) (1) ........cccovvvenene. 654.06 H&N
Personal Flotation Devices (l) ....c.ccceeeeerrrrnnes 6565 T14
®©  NOPFD-VESSEl ...ooooiieicice e
o Nothrowable-vesselover16feet...................
*  Wearablenotreadilyaccessible......................
e Throwable not immediately available
e PFD not serviceable ..........ccccoovvriiicicrninnen,
*  PFD notappropriate Size........cccccecvrveivevenenne.
o PFD not legibly marked ..........cccccovveieinrininns
PFD wear required for person under 13 years
*  On vessel underway, under age 13 any length 658.3(a) H&N
*  Exceptions tethered, enclosed cabin (b)
¢ PWC and aquaplane ski etc. (c)
Personal Flotation Device (1) .......ccuounrrrmereresesesssesnsnerenens 6566
*  Type | Required-for-hire and commercial
OVer 40 feet ..o (@)3)(C)
*  Ring buoy required-for-hire and commercial
OVEr 26 fEEL ..vovveriiceecc e (@)3)(D)
Sounding Devices (also 6600.1* T14)
Proper signaling device aboard (1) ...........ccceeovveneee 6600.1 T14
Unnecessary sound signaling ...........cccccceeeveeiiienenne 6600.1*  T14
Ventilation (1) ..ccceveeeeeiceeeerse e s 6575 T14
*  Natural system - none or defective
- Mfg. before 7/31/80 .......cccocovvevverennnnn
- Mfg. after 7/31/80 (Ref. 6575.5)
Visual Distress Signals (coastal waters only)
None or iMProper (1) ....o.coveeeeeeeriieecee e 6692(c) T14
False display or misuse of distress signal (m) ................. 6600.1* T14
*seepage6B
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Inland Navigation Rules
Section 6600.1

Pursuant to Title 14, California Code of Regulations, Section 6600.1%,
the Federal Inland and International Navigation Rules have been
incorporated by reference to California law.

The following is a reference to the most common inland rules for
operational and equipment violations:

TITLE 33, UNITED STATES CODE: PART RULE
Violation
Responsibility - general ........c.cccooviiieeeiiiiienen. A 2
Responsibility - proper lookout ............c.c.ccee..e. B 5
Safe Speed ... B 6
Sailing VESSEIS ...cevvieiiiiieicie e B 12
OvertaKing .....ocevceeeeeiieee e B 13
Head-on situation ............cccooiiiiiiiiii. B 14
Crossing situation .........ccccceeeiiiiiiiiie e B 15
Lights - none, improper, not using .............cc..... C 20
Blinding lights (also 6695 T14) ........ccccocveenienne. C 20
Diving operations - required signal(s) display ..... C 27
Anchor lights display ........cccccoeveiiiiniriieieee C 300l
Equipment for sound signals. ...........cccccceveeinnen. D 33
Maneuvering and warning signals ............cc.cc...... D 34
Sound signals in restricted visibility .................... D 35
TITLE 33, CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS: PART,ANNEX SECTION
Violation
False display or misuse of

distress or sound signals .............ococeeiiiininnns 87,Iv 87.3

Copy of Rules - Self-propelled vessel 12 meters

or more in length shall carry .............ccccoeieens 88,V 88.05
Authority
Law enforcement vessel

blue light display ...........cccoovevieiiiiiiiiee e 88,V 88.11
Public safety activity

red and yellow light display.........c.ccccccceeeiii. 88,V 88.12

*Title 14, California Code of Regulations, Section 6600.1, provides
the reference to applicable federal law, and should be included when
citing a violation for any of the above rules.

For example: Violation cited for not displaying required lights, cite
Title 14, CCR, Section 6600.1, Title 33 USC, Part C, Rule 20; or the
preceding example may be abbreviated to: Title 14, CCR, Section
6600.1(a), Rule 20. Check your agency/court policy.
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(o) “Operator” means the person aboard a vessel who meets any of the
following:

(1) Is steering the vessel while underway.

(2) Is responsible for the operation of the vessel while underway.

(3) Is at least 18 years of age and is attentive and supervising the
operation of the vessel by a person 12, 13, 14, or 15 years of age
pursuant to Section 658.5.

(s) “Personal watercraft” means a vessel 13 feet in length or less,
propelled by machinery, that is designed to be operated by a person
sitting, standing, or kneeling on the vessel, rather than in the
conventional manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel.

(v) “Special-use area” means all or a portion of a waterway that is set
aside for specified uses or activities to the exclusion of other
incompatible uses or activities.

(y) “Undocumented vessel” means any vessel that is not required to
have, and does not have, a valid marine document issued by the
United States Coast Guard or any federal agency successor thereto.

(aa) “Vessel” includes every description of a watercraft or other
artificial contrivance used or capable of being used as a
means of transportation on water, except either of the following:

(1) A seaplane on the water.

(2) A watercraft specifically designed to operate on a permanently
fixed course, the movement of which is restricted to a fixed track
or arm to which the watercraft is attached or by which the
watercraft is controlled.

(ab) “Water skis, an aquaplane, or a similar device” includes all forms
of water skiing, barefoot skiing, skiing on skim boards, knee boards,
or other contrivances, parasailing, ski kiting, or any activity where a
person is towed behind or alongside a boat.

(ac) “Waters of this state” means any waters within the territorial limits
of this state.

DEFINITIONS 7A
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Hullldentification Number Formats

Straight Year

November 1, 1972

ABC 12345 1283

| Vo

Manufacturer's Production Month Year
ID Code (MIC) or Serial # of Production
Model Year

November 1, 1972

TRU 12345 M3B8A4E
_—— 7 N\

Designates Model Model Production
Year Format Year Month*
*KEY TO MONTH OF MODEL YEAR:
A - AUGUST D - NOVEMBER G - FEBRUARY J - MAY
B - SEPTEMBER E - DECEMBER H - MARCH K- JUNE
C - OCTOBER F - JANUARY | - APRIL L-JuLy

Current Format
Optional January 1, 1984

Mandatory August 1, 1984

XY Z 12345 1L 485

MIC Production or *Month Year Model
Serial # of Production Year

Current Format replaced "Straight Year" and "Model Year" and Confidential HIN required as of August
1, 1984.

*KEY TO MONTH OF PRODUCTION OF CURRENT FORMAT:

A - JANUARY D - APRIL G-JuLy J-OCTOBER
B - FEBRUARY E - MAY H - AUGUST K- NOVEMBER
C - MARCH F - JUNE | - SEPTEMBER L - DECEMBER

1. California DMV Assigned HIN Format

CFZ 1234 C 0776 -K
®) ® © () ®

) Prefix constantand identities as California assigned

) Four numbers from the registration number, CF 1234 CK
(c) First letter of the suffix from the registration number

(o) Month and year of manufacturer, i.e., July 1976

(e) Hyphen and last letter of the suffix from the registration
number

2. Effective 7/1/90 - California DMV Assigned HIN Format
CFZ 0104A L (0] 90

(A) (8) (C) (D) (E)

() Prefix constantand identities as California assigned

8) Four numbers and first letter suffix of the registration
number, CF 0104 AC

(C) Letter code A through L (for the months of January through December,
respectively) for the month of manufacture or month
DMVfees paid if the month of manufacture is unknown

(o) Last digit of the year of manufacture or year DMV fees
paid if year of manufacture is unknown

) Year model or year DMV fees paid if year model is
unknown
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Chemical Test for Motor Boat Operators
(655.1 H & N)

--- Sample Admonishment —

. You are requested to submit to a chemical test to determine the
alcohol and/or drug content of your blood.

. A complaint may be filed against you for operating a mechanically
propelled vessel or manipulating any water skis, aquaplane, or similar
device under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or any drug, or
under the combined influence of an alcoholic beverage and any drug.

. You have the right to refuse chemical testing.

. | have the authority to seek a search warrant compelling you to submit
a blood sample as described in paragraph (16) of subdivision (a) of
Section 1524 of the Penal Code. The judge will approve or deny the
request for a search warrant based on the facts of the investigation.

. You do not have the right to have an attorney present before
stating whether you will submit to the chemical testing, before
deciding which chemical test to take, or during the administration
of the chemical test or tests chosen.

. Will you take a:
[Breath Test?  []Blood Test?

. If you cannot complete the test you choose, you may submit to
and complete the other test.

H & N Code Section 655.1(f) (Trombetta)

. The breath testing equipment does not retain any breath sample
for later analysis by you or anyone else.

. If you want a sample retained, you may provide a blood sample
that will be retained at no cost to you. If you do so, the

blood sample may be tested for alcoholic or drug

content by either party in a criminal prosecution.

. Do you wish to provide a blood sample?

Miranda Warning

. You have the right to remain silent.

. Anything you say can and will be used against you in a court
of law.

. You have the right to talk with an attorney and to have an
attorney present before and during questioning.

. If you cannot afford an attorney, one will be appointed free of
charge to represent you before and during questioning, if you
desire.

Obtaining Waiver

. Do you understand each of these rights | have explained
to you?

. Having these rights in mind, do you waive each of them?



	Phone Numbers/ Websites
	Authority
	General Authority
	Alcohol or Drugs. ...................................................  655.1 H & N
	Search Warrant Blood Evidence Authority 1524 et. al. P.C.
	Penalties

	General Law
	GENERAL LAW                            3A

	Operation
	OPERATION 4A

	US Mandatory Education Requirements
	OPERATIONS, CONTINUED                                    4C
	Negligent Operation, Prima Facie Evidence. .. 6697 T14
	Speed in Restricted Area. ................................. 655.2(a) H & N
	Towing Skiers. ...................................................  658 H & N
	Vessel Accidents
	Carbon Monoxide Exposure............................ 681  H & N

	Numbers and Display
	Proper Display of Numbers Required (I) ........ 9853.2 V.C.
	Out of State Registration over 120 days (I)           9854 V.C.
	Correction Authority V.C. Only           CVC40610VC V.C.
	NUMBERING & CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER CODES 5A
	Meters to Feet
	Equipment "Classes"

	Equipment
	Backfire Flame Control
	Lights
	Livery Boat Requirements
	Mufflers
	EQUIPMENT & NAVIGATION RULES 6A
	Violation
	Violation
	Authority

	Definitions
	651

	(ab) “Water skis, an aquaplane, or a similar device” includes all forms
	of water skiing, barefoot skiing, skiing on skim boards, knee boards,
	or other contrivances, parasailing, ski kiting, or any activity where a
	person is towed behind or alongside a boat.
	(ac) “Waters of this state” means any waters within the territorial limits
	of this state.
	DEFINITIONS 7A
	T  R  U 1   2  3  4   5   M  8   4 E
	Current Format
	X  Y  Z 1  2  3  4  5 L  4  8 5
	1. California DMV Assigned HIN Format
	2. Effective 7/1/90 - California DMV Assigned HIN Format
	HIN FORMAT & CHEMICAL TEST INSTRUCTION 8A
	Miranda Warning
	Obtaining Waiver



